Principal Investigator

Sanjeev Koppal

Dr. Sanjeev Koppal

Sanjeev J. Koppal is an assistant professor at the University of Florida ECE department. Prior to joining UF, he was a researcher at the Texas Instruments Imaging R&D lab. Sanjeev obtained his Master’s and Ph.D. degrees from the Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. After CMU, he was a postdoctoral research associate in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University. He received his B.S. degree from the University of Southern California in 2003. His interests span computer vision, computational photography and optics, novel cameras and sensors, 3D reconstruction, physics-based vision and active illumination.

Dr. Koppal’s CV

Contact Information
Sanjeev J. Koppal
Assistant Professor
NEB 437

Ph.D Students

Francesco Pittaluga

Francesco Pittaluga

Francesco Pittaluga is a fifth year doctoral student in Electrical Engineering at the University of Florida, where he works in the lab of Dr. Sanjeev J. Koppal. In the last three years, Francesco has interned at the Toyota Technological Institute of Technology at Chicago, Magic Leap and Microsoft. Prior to beginning his doctoral studies at the University of Florida, Francesco received a B.S. in Electrical Engineering with a second major in Computer Science from Tufts University. His interests include computer vision, machine learning, and computational photography.



Kristofer Henderson

Xiaomeng Liu

Xiaomeng Liu

Xiaomeng Liu is currently working as a research assistant in the FOCUS Lab at UF. Before working with the FOCUS Lab, she obtained an M.S. Degree in Computer Engineering from the ECE department at the University of Florida. Her research interests span thermal sensors, optics, image processing, and computational photography.

Justin Folden

Justin Folden

Justin Folden is a first year Ph.D student at the University of Florida, and a research assistant at the FOCUS Lab. Before joining the Gator Nation, Justin obtained a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from Florida Polytechnic University. His interests include material science, image processing, electro-magnetics, and computational photography.



Masters Students



Undergraduate Students



Alumni (First Appointment After Graduation)

Zaid Tasneem – Masters 2018
Nahien Chowdhury – Undergraduate 2017 – Boeing
Tatiana Luna – Undergraduate 2017 – Ph.D. candidate at Columbia University
Aashik Nagadikeri Harish – Masters 2017 – STRIVR Labs
Aleksandar Zivkovic – Masters 2016 – Magic and Company
Junior Metayer – Undergraduate 2016 –¬†Florida Power & Light
Xiaoyang Zhang – Ph.D. (co-advised with Dr. Huikai Xie) 2016 – MagicLeap
Phillip Riley – Undergraduate 2016 – Harris Corporation
Ishwarya Iyengar Thirunarayanan – Masters 2016 -Siemens Imaging
Lisa Butler – Masters 2015 – Lockheed Martin